Regular price $25.00 Save $-25.00
34 in stock


The Black Keys’ new album, Turn Blue, was released May 13, 2014, on Nonesuch Records. Produced by Danger Mouse, Dan Auerbach, and Patrick Carney, Turn Blue features 11 new tracks. Mojo says the album "underlines the fact that The Black Keys are the most vital rock band in the world right now." Rolling Stone calls the album "a giant step into the best, most consistently gripping album the Keys have ever made."

Turn Blue was recorded at Sunset Sound in Hollywood during the summer of 2013 with additional recording done at the Key Club in Benton Harbor, MI and Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound in Nashville in early 2014. Of the new album, the band says Turn Blue could refer to:

A: Suffocation
B: Sadness
C: Numbness from extreme cold
D: A Cleveland late night TV host from the 1960s named Ghoulardi
E: All of the above

Moreover, Carney comments, “We are always trying to push ourselves when we make a record—not repeat our previous work but not abandon it either. On this record, we let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds. We’re excited for the world to hear Turn Blue.”

This is the eighth full-length album from the duo and follows 2011’s critically and commercially acclaimed El Camino, which is now certified RIAA Platinum. Internationally, El Camino is Gold in Belgium, Spain, Italy, and Holland; Platinum in Ireland, France and the UK; and double Platinum in Australia, Canada, and New Zealand. The record also resulted in three awards at the 55th annual Grammy Awards—Best Rock Performance, Best Rock Song, and Best Rock Album. The band now has a total of six Grammy Awards including three in 2010 for their breakout, RIAA Platinum album, Brothers.


The Black Keys are Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney
All Songs Performed by The Black Keys

Dan Auerbach, vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, etc.
Patrick Carney, drums, keyboards, percussion, etc.
Brian Burton, keyboards, piano, etc.

Regina, Ann and Alfreda McCrary, background vocals on tracks 1–3, 9

All Songs Produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys
Except: Tracks 7, 11 Produced by The Black Keys
Engineered by Kennie Takahashi
Additional Engineering by Geoff Neal at Sunset Sound in Hollywood, CA; Bill Skibbe at Key Club in Benton Harbor, MI; Collin Dupuis at Easy Eye Sound in Nashville, TN
Recorded at Sunset Sound in Hollywood, CA from July to August 2013
Additional Recording at Key Club in Benton Harbor, MI in January 2013; Easy Eye Sound in February 2014
Mixed by Tchad Blake
Mastered by Brian Lucey at Magic Garden Mastering in Los Angeles, CA

Artwork and Art Direction by Michael Carney

All songs written by D. Auerbach, P. Carney, B. Burton
All songs published by McMoore McLesst Publishing (BMI), Administered by Wixen Music / Sweet Science (ASCAP) Except: Tracks 7, 11 Written by The Black Keys / Published by McMoore McLesst Publishing (BMI), administered by Wixen Music
Track 5 contains a sample from the song “Sandra” written and performed by Nico Fidenco from the original soundtrack to La Ragazzina. Licensed courtesy of Creazioni Artistiche Musicali C.A.M. S.R.L. Una societa' del Gruppo Sugar. US and Canadian publishing rights administered by Sugar Melodi, Inc. (ASCAP). World ex. US and Canada publishing rights administered by Una societa' del Gruppo Sugar. International Copyright Reserved. All Rights Reserved. Used By Permission. Sample cleared by Alien Music.

Selected For You